In The Gym (aka Box)

I wanted to practice taking people pictures, but where should I go, who do I photograph? Ah, Crossfit Northlake! Owners Jason & Amy Bright allowed me to bring my camera to a class. I wanted to single out one person and follow him/her throughout the workout. I had muscles, sweat & determination in mind. Jason pointed out Christine and I knew she’d make a great subject. She graciously agreed to be photographed.

IMG_3463 clone bt face clone red lt more

My goal was to try out  a new lens. The 100mm macro lens that was stuck on my camera had to be broken to get it off. A Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 IS Macro Lens replaced it. I also wanted to continue to practice using a flash.

Christine got right to work, and so did I.

IMG_3467

IMG_3525

It’s always easier to photograph a subject that’s still. Well, Christine was anything but still and allowed me to practice with a moving subject.

IMG_3561

IMG_3566

I worked at trying to get the correct exposure in camera, but ultimately needed to brighten all the images. I was working with the maximum flash sync speed for my camera (1/180 sec.), a small aperture for shallow depth of field (f/2.8-3.5), and an ISO of 500-800. I found that if I increased the Flash Exposure Compensation, the image often looked too much like a photograph taken with flash. The goal is to have the flash add light, but look natural.

IMG_3573

Gosh, it was a tough workout, and Christine did great! It is apparent that if you put in the effort, you will be rewarded. This can be applied to many aspects of life.

Christine, you rock!

Leave a Reply

