Fun @ the Run

The Kiawah Island Marathon was a great opportunity to photograph people. There were plenty of runners, spectators and volunteers. I was a cheerleader for my husband and a group of friends from Charlotte who were either running the half or full marathon. Unlike most marathons, this one allows bicycles on the course. Perfect for me. I’m a biker, not a runner, and my camera bag with my Olympus M-10 fit perfectly in the basket of the rental  bike.

It’s fairly easy to take photos of people I know. They all realize I enjoy photography, so many expect to see me with a camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sara & Hazel

Friends always want a group shot. This one looks like a snapshot, but I thought I’d include it because these friends will be happy to see the photo posted here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Race ready

Cute kids. I kinda know them. They don’t know me. Maddie & Owen.

Oh, I just had to stop and and take a picture of this girl. That hair is awesome! Compliment a person and she has no problem being photographed. There’s harsh light on the right side of her face, but I was just getting a grab-n-go shot. The group I was with was headed to the start of the race and I didn’t want to lose them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The national anthem is a good time to get solemn photos. People are caught up in the moment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And they’re off! I didn’t even try to stop motion. Sports photography is a whole nother thing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My biking buddies! They were patient when I hopped off my bike several times during the marathon to take pictures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ali & Di

I started out by taking a photo of one of the volunteers near the paper cups at a water station. We had a brief conversation about how I was just taking pictures for fun, and she lost interest in standing there and went by the other volunteers. Well, shoot. I didn’t get a good photo of her. But what if I highlight the cups by putting them in the foreground….and have the volunteers blurred in the background….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This spectator wasn’t going anywhere until her better half crossed the finish line. I think she thought I was photographing the runners as they finished the race. I was also using a telephoto lens, so I wasn’t right up in her face.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hands holding things. Ear buds before the race and a Bud Light after.

Sitting around with friends after the half marathoners finished and waiting for the marathoners to finish was a good chance to snap this photo of Mona. Still smiling after running 13.1 miles!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not everyone is a runner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I would have to agree with this t-shirt. Running sucks. Photography doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

