Charleston Street Photography

I had a fun Saturday morning walking the streets of historic Charleston. With my Olympus E-M10 and a 40-100mm lens, I headed out from a parking garage on Kings Street about 4 blocks north of Marion Square. I made my way to the City Market about 1.5 miles away taking photos along the way. Once at the City Market, I walked through all the buildings….twice. I weaved my way back to the car, stopping at Moe’s (yum!) for lunch.

My first stop was Glazed Gourmet Doughnuts, not for doughnuts, but for photos.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I spotted this guy sitting around on the job at a shoe store on King’s Street. He spotted me too and walked from that seat after I took three photos.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went in the Starbucks looking for people having their morning coffee. As luck would have it (or maybe it was because it was 9am and many people drink coffee at that time) I found some! The coffee shop has a really cool upstairs. I was standing on the stairs when I took this photo. Looks like she opted for water?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A lady with a big hat at the Historic Charleston City Market drew my attention.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was SO much beautiful light at the market. It’s located in an old building with window openings, but no windows. This salesgirl was standing at a corner of the building where light was coming from behind her from one window opening, and light was coming toward her from the open doorway in front of her. I took a bunch of photos of her and I know she noticed me. I have one photo of her looking directly at the camera. She didn’t seem to mind and went about her work. Love the dreads and headband! Cool scarf too. And the background is awesome.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You never know where you might get a photo. This one of a cute dog in a dog purse was taken in the woman’s restroom.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back on King’s Street, a store was getting a renovation and these lovely ladies were looking, well, lovely, while a little boy checked out the place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sometimes we all wish there we two of us to handle the workload.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m going to call this one “Circle of Friends”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh what fun it is to take photos! Especially in Charleston.

 

Leave a Reply

