Mr. & Mrs. Brad Riley

I attended the wedding of Bradley Steven Riley to Kyla Jo on August 27th. It’s the date that will always be in their hearts as the day they began the next chapter in their lives. I’m so happy for them, and wish them all the joy 32 years of marriage has brought me.

I brought my Olympus mirror-less camera, instead of the Canon 6D, to grab a few shots. It’s easier to slip the smaller camera in my purse when not in use. I knew the ceremony and reception were to be held outdoors beginning at 5 pm, so lighting would be good.

Brad became a friend of my son’s when they were in elementary school. Brad was a great kid back then and will make a great husband and provider. Brad’s parents, Susan & Steve, became our friends many years ago.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Susan & Steve Riley

Although one of the reasons I brought my camera was to practice people pictures, I couldn’t help but take some photos of a few of the other elements at the wedding.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Flowers at the ceremony

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Program/Personal fan

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Table seating for the guests

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jack & Lorraine – Table 12

My son, Cooper, and his girlfriend, Jillian, attended. The 17mm lens on my Olympus is not my favorite portrait lens, but I worked with what I had. I paid attention to where the light was even, and where it fell nicely on the subject’s face – something I have learned by practicing. I moved my subjects into good light.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cooper

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jillian

It took my extroverted husband no time at all to begin mingling at the reception. Here he is talking to Pastor Art Beyer, the same Pastor who baptized Brad as a child.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jack and Pastor Art Beyer

Pastor Beyer is a really personable guy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pastor Art Beyer

This guest needs a refill!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Andrew

I chose a few children as my subjects to photograph at the reception. They were all adooooorable in their dress-up clothes. This little guy has eyes that matched his shirt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cuteness overload

The flower girl didn’t want her picture taken and kept running in circles. I finally caught one of her in focus.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Flower girl

The youngest guest at the wedding was 10-week-old baby Riley (named after her mother’s maiden name).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Riley

And finally…the guests of honor as they prepared to be introduced just before dinner.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brad & Kyla

A gathering of family & friends, a beautiful ceremony and reception, and two hearts joined as one. All because two people fell in love.

 

 

Leave a comment